Christmas Songs

10Dec08

Image by ninahale

Image by ninahale

Between calls and comments about customers, the sound of hummed Christmas music is currently drifting through the office as people are getting into the seasonal spirit. Most of the larger shops have had the same five or six songs on a loop since the 1st and the lights make the town sparkle as soon as it gets dark.

Is this all a bit… premature though? I for one find listening to Christmas music from as early as the end of November, as seems to be the convention these days, to be a little counter-productive. By the time the party season really kicks off, later on in the month, I’m so sick of most of the songs I don’t want to hear them anymore, which is something of a spirit-killer. One Christmas song that always makes me smile however, is The Pogues featuring Kirsty MacColl’s classic Fairytale of New York.

This song brings back memories of wandering through town with friends, fortified with mulled wine, singing at the top of our lungs and not caring how stupid we probably sounded. The only Christmas song I never tire of, even if I’ve heard it every week since mid-November!

How about you? Are you fed up of the Christmas music already, or do you enjoy every minute of it? What’s your favourite song to get you in the festive spirit?

13 Responses to “Christmas Songs”

  1. For me, it’s O’ Holy Night, Jessica Simpson’s version narrowly beats Christina Aguilera’s.

  2. Nooo — I can never get sick of the Holiday season. I love when Christmas songs begin playing in the shops. It makes me want to spend the whole day shopping. =)

  3. i’m so glad none of the shops near me play xmas music…
    there is, however, a little busker on the street that plays a very limited range of songs on harmonica though…he’s started whipping up some xmas treats mixed in with the usual “itsy bitsy teeny weeny yellow polka dot bikini…” but I don’t mind, as he only knows the chorus (of any song), and he’s just too cute!
    😀

  4. do you know, this is actually the first christmas in while that I haven’t worked in retail, so i haven’t had to put up with the same 6 songs over and over again *relief!* I’m pining for some christmas music, but yes, I am making myself wait till closer to christmas so I don’t tire of it by christmas day 🙂

  5. not meaning to be a killjoy here, but i hate christmas music. seriously. it drives me insane. this may or may not have something to do with the year and a half that i worked as a supermarket cashier and we had christmas carols running on a loop for three months straight around christmas time – from november right through til the end of january. awesome.

  6. today was the first day I listened to Christmas music and I managed to enjoy it for a whole hour. I think that might be enough for me until next week.

  7. I was listening to loads of christmas music last week! Now I’ve been too busy and stressed to, but I love the Sufjan Stevens christmas albums and also The Pipettes White Christmas – along with the classics like Wham! and Wizzard! I want to buy a christmas album now…

    When I worked in asda it was unbearable though. 7 hours of christmas music with the same songs repeated over and over! Hell! Makes you feel like the grinch too.

  8. You are so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve read something like this before.
    So wonderful to find somebody with a few original thoughts
    on this subject matter. Really.. thanks for starting
    this up. This site is one thing that is required on the internet, someone with some originality!

  9. 9 Amado

    Right here is the right site for anybody who hopes to understand this
    topic. You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject that has been written
    about for a long time. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!
    streetdirectory *Amado*

  10. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i
    came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to
    improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your
    ideas!!

  11. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am
    going through troubles with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I am unable to join it.
    Is there anybody having similar RSS problems?

    Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

  12. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this
    article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually
    kept preaching about this. I will send this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

  13. That is very fascinating, You are an overly professional blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward
    to seeking more of your great post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks


Leave a Reply

