Winter Essentials

04Nov08

Photo by mysza831

Photo by mysza831

It’s cold, miserable, and dark by 5PM in the UK at the moment. When it’s not raining and windy it’s still and freezing, definitely thick coat weather! So, here’s my top list of winter essentials to get you through the cold weather!

* Hot Chocolate – the ultimate drink for cold winter evenings, carry a sachet in your bag in case you need a chocolate fix at work! Some of the low-fat ones are only 35 calories if you’re watching your weight too.

* Fingerless Gloves – I have slightly low circulation, so my hands get cold easily. Fingerless gloves are great as they keep me warm whilst alowing me to type!

* Reading Material – A stash of good books, magazines and zines, plus a well-stocked Google Reader is essential for my winter. I find myself reading a lot more than I do in summer, usually when I’ve decided to take an early night with a mug of Chai and something by one of my favourite writers.

* Those fake pashminas I mentioned in the last TiLT – I bought more of them at the weekend!

* Great evenings in – Β DVDs, junk food, wine, a warm blanket to wrap up in on the sofa, all great winter essentials! Just remember you balance out the junk food with something healthy too!

* Braving the weather – It’s definitely essential to make sure you don’t hibernate. No matter how cold and miserable it is outside, it’s good to venture out somewhere despite your common sense telling you it would be much easier to just stay in where it’s warm.

* Delicious Winter Food and Drink – Β Stews, apple pie, chilli, Treacle Sponge and Custard, accompanied by mulled wine, hot chai, and Irish coffees. Never mind Christmas over-indulgence, my feasting starts on the first cold day!

* Good Moisturiser – Both for your face and hands, I can’t get enough of it in the winter! The same goes for lip balm, and remember that even though it’s cold outside, it should have sun protection!

To those of you in the USA, please go out and vote Obama today! We in the UK are watching with interest, and I think I can speak for many of us when I say that if I were able to vote, I’d vote for Obama in a heartbeat.

Now, what are your essentials as the weather gets colder? x

17 Responses to “Winter Essentials”

  1. I was crafty enough to miss out winter for the last year, but now I find myself completely unprepared for cold weather! I couldn’t believe when it snowed in London last week!!

    I have been stocking up on warm hats, and I definitely need a nice thick coat, a few scarves and a pair of gloves.

    I’m looking forward to a winter Xmas. I’ve only ever spent Christmas in New Zealand in the middle of summer so it will certainly be a different experience!

  2. I just got a pair of fingerless gloves and I love them. They have an extra part that lets them flip up into mittens – fashionable AND sensible. πŸ™‚

  3. Fingerless gloves… granted, I’m in AZ, so I won’t need them around here. But when I travel, those sound great! I’d also have a heating pad… then you can get the heat right where you need it to keep your muscles from getting too stiff in the cold, especially the shoulders and neck area when on the PC alot. Good luck keeping warm!

    ~ Kristi

  4. 4 xA.

    Definitely cute hats πŸ™‚
    I love the saggy, thick woolen ones that go awesomely with whatever hair colour I choose for the week. πŸ˜‰

  5. I never realized you were in the UK! My must haves for winter are snow boots, scarf, mittens, hot chocolate, and I love to snuggle with my bunny or anybody else’s pets who want to cuddle with me (or cute boys)!

  6. I voted. πŸ˜€ I’m counting on celebrating an Obama victory tonite!

  7. You’ve left out the doona (duvet to some) !
    πŸ™‚

  8. Yay! I’ve been writing a similar list in my head lately (this is only my second real winter, and I really need to brace myself!), and I was happy to see yours on my reader.

  9. 9 MC

    Winter Essentials Numero Uno for me:
    1. Voting for Obama

    Check!

    I don’t really experience real winter here in Orlando, FL which is unfortunate since I love winter wardrobe and getting all bundled up!

  10. Definitely an amen on the hot chocolate, nights in and delicious winter food! I also like having an assortment of pretty scarves, cosy beanies and a good pair of boots – they help me to brave the cold! πŸ™‚

  11. i LOVE fingerless gloves! i have a couple of pairs. my other winter essentials: a cute and cozy jacket, a good pair of boots, lots of socks and scarves, and many cups of hot tea!

  12. Fingerless gloves are relaly the best !

  13. lots of layers, scarves, cute beanies and coats!
    I bought a hooded snow-vest when I was travelling and I have never worn anything so much in my life!! It had insulated pockets to keep my mitts warm, and I could put as many tops/jackets underneath too! (although I’m pretty sure I looked like a snowman! But hey, it kept me warm!)
    Oh – and irish coffees! Can’t beat them in the dead of winter πŸ˜‰
    xxx

  14. I’m not sure how I managed to forget hats! πŸ˜€

  15. I hope it will get colder here in our place also! I’m living in this tropical country 😦

  16. I am on the hunt for some fingerless gloves. I have a few saved on Etsy and can’t wait to get them.

    I prefer hot cider over hot chocolate although I do enjoy a good cup of it every now and then.

    What about chap stick? Worse thing is to have dry, flaky lips.

  17. I love fingerless gloves too! Homes here don’t really have indoor heating and it gets SO COLD in the winter.


Leave a Reply

