Critique Me!

10Oct08

This blog is an obviousΒ work-in-progress. As such, I would sincerely welcome any comments / criticism on any aspect of the blog. This post will be “stickied” until the design etc. is finalised.

(Yes, I’m being cheeky and asking for the wisdom of more experienced bloggers!)

Vixel xx

20 Responses to “Critique Me!”

  1. hello lovely,

    i really like your blogginz so far, all the things you’ve got going.
    my blog too, is just a baby, in comparison to some of the more seasoned ones out there!

    <33 much love,
    mermaid

  2. My blog is a newborn also… But my suggestion is MORE PHOTOS! Maybe that’s b/c I’m just a photography junkie though, but usually when I am on the internet, I’m going for visual stimulation. Just a suggestion! πŸ™‚

    Feel free to critique my blog as well as it is also a work in progress.

  3. Thank you, both of you πŸ™‚ There will definitley be more photos, I admit, the reason I haven’t posted that many thus far is that I can’t find my camera battery charger at the moment1 I may pick up a new one tonight.

    I’ve added your blog to my feed, Holly, I particularly liked the magazine review post πŸ™‚

  4. Hey darling! I really like what you’re doing so far. I can’t give any better advice than Darren Rowse, so you should check out his blog: http://www.problogger.net. There is so much awesome information there. I’ve never read it all myself–I tried to and my feed reader freaked out–but I think a really good place to start is the Blogging for Beginners series, which is here.

    Other than that, keep up the excellent work! πŸ˜€

  5. Ooh fabulous, thank you! I’d read the odd article by him before now, but I hadn’t seen the full series, I’ll have to sit down and read it through over the weekend πŸ˜€

  6. I like the layout of your blog. It isn’t too crowded with too many things which could make it look chaotic. My only suggestion is that perhaps you add a bit of color to it. After all, it is called Sparkle & Glitter.

  7. love your blog so far πŸ™‚ i’d like to learn more about you as a person though. and maybe some more photos?

  8. More photos, info and colours are all coming πŸ™‚ I’m devoting a few hours at the weekend to getting an actual design sorted, as opposed to just using an uncustomised theme πŸ™‚

  9. 9 Cassandra

    You could definitely use some more sparkle and glitter πŸ™‚

  10. I think your RSS feed isn’t working – I haven’t got any of your posts showing in my Google reader…

    I’m looking forward to seeing the new design!

  11. @ Bridey – Thanks for letting me know, I shall investigate! the new design is unfortunately going to be a little late, I didn’t realise how much I’d forgotten since my webdesign modules a couple of years ago!

  12. I like the design πŸ™‚ It’s very modern.

    I’m a sucker for lots of clean black, white, and grey.

    I can’t believe they don’t have chocolate-covered pretzels where you live… it’s blasphemy!

  13. I think you just have to be yourself. After all it’s your blog. Word of warning, people will criticise, some will abuse, take it with a pinch of salt. Start bullet-proofing yourself, find that delete button πŸ™‚

    Have linked your blog. Any publicity is good right?

  14. @ Kelly – I must admit it’s growing on me, but it’s one of the default WordPress themes and eventually I’d like to sort out a design of my own πŸ™‚

    @ Werther – I’m pretty bullet-proof when it comes to that sort of thing, I welcome constructive criticism but abuse will be deleted immediately unless it amuses me! Thanks for the link, I’ll be linking you back once I sort out that bit of the site! (sometime in the next few evenings I think)

  15. the blog is lovely πŸ™‚ I personally love the layout, but i’m an absolute minimalist. I think you’re a darling – will add you to my google reader xox

  16. I really like what you’re doing, Vixel. A lovely voice, well organized and the like! I second (third?) the photo suggestion and I’m also a huge fan of using full justification on paragraphs … I mean having all words touch both sides of the columns, not justifing yourself πŸ™‚

    Really, really a good start!

  17. Thank you πŸ˜€

  18. thanks sweetieee~

  19. Hey Vixel… Your blog is coming along nicely now… Good work! I think you could probably even take down this “Critique Me” section now what do you think? πŸ˜‰ I still havn’t made the Chilli recipe you suggested.. but I’ve been thinking about it! Need to buy more spices… Take Care x

  20. It probably is actually, good point, shall do! x


Leave a Reply

