Recipe: Curried Pumpkin Soup

09Dec08

Image by kawanetImage by kawanet

Inspired by Miss Corrine‘s post, “Sniffles Be Gone“, in which she shares some excellent ways to get rid of the colds I think everyone I know has or has recently had, I thought I would share mine – my curried pumpkin soup which contains lots of natural cold-fighting yummyness! Sadly, I don’t have a photo of the soup I made, but the one above is similar in colour.

Scientific studies have also shown that the main ingredients of curry such as garlic, onions, ginger, chilli and turmeric may help to fight the symptoms of colds. Chilli peppers are a rich source of vitamin C and are reputed to have anti-viral properties, onions are also a source of vitamin C, while garlic and turmeric both have antiseptic properties. Dried ginger is known for its natural anti-inflammatory and analgesic effects.

(Source: http://www.vhi.ie/hfiles/hf-025.jsp)

This soup contains all of those delicious anti-cold ingredients, as well as lemon juice for extra vitamin C and of course, the main ingredients, pumpkin and sweet potatoes which are also nutritious and good for you.

Ingredients:
A large onion
The flesh of a small pumpkin (or a can of pumpkin, drained)
Two large sweet potatoes (or a can thereof, drained)
A pint and a half (ish) of fresh stock (though cubes are fine too), chicken is good but vegetarian works really well too!
As much garlic as you like (I tend to use about 12 cloves in this – I love garlic!)
4 tsps of Turmeric
About an inch of ginger, finely chopped, or a couple of teaspoons of ground ginger
A fresh chili – choose the type according to your tolerances!
6 tsps medium curry powder
Salt and Pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
The juice of half a lemon
Some fresh parsley
Optional: A splash of cream

1. Soften the onions in a large saucepan with the oil, adding  the garlic after a few minutes. Add the turmeric, curry powder, ginger and chili stir-frying it all for a few more minutes until the onions are translucent and the spices are lightly roasted.

2. Throw in the chopped, peeled sweet potatoes, pumpkin and stock. If the vegetables are raw, add a little water and bring to the boil, simmering them until they’re soft. If they’re canned, skip the water, just let the soup simmer for about 30 minutes.

3. Add the lemon juice, salt, pepper and some chopped parsley, and stir it in. Add cream if you wish, then taste it to see if you need to adjust any of the spices or seasonings. Once it tastes perfect, take it off the heat, liquidise it and enjoy!

After eating a bowl of this,I always feel a little better, even if it’s just because the chili has cleared my nose! A word of warning however, if you make this whilst you have a cold and freeze some of it, taste with caution once you’ve recovered – last time I did that, the chili blew my head off since my taste-buds were working again!

12 Responses to “Recipe: Curried Pumpkin Soup”

  1. YUM!!! Pumpkin soup has to be my favouritest soup ever! I know someone who roasted the pumpkin (& sweet potato) before adding it to the soup. DIVIIIINE! =) I wish it were winter again

  2. Sounds absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making this some time soon.

  3. Yummy *and* useful! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Soups are amazing for when you feel ill -they’re so healthy!! And I swear, curries are the best thing ever if you have a cold.

  5. Vicki! I love it. I just ate a pumpkin bisque at the cafe across the street from my work the other day, and I was looking for similar recipes. You read my mind! :-D

  6. that looks delicious! i can’t wait to try it out.

  7. Oh, YUM! Great recipe Vixel, and it features some of my most favourite of ingredients! :D Will definitely be giving this a try, and thank-you for the sweet mention! :)

  8. That sounds absolutely incredible. I have about half of the ingredients. I am going to get the other half.

  9. sigh* YUM.

  10. That sounds wonderful, Vixel! I’m bookmarking this recipe.

  11. Yay, glad it’s appreciated! I love cooking, particularly when the ingredients are chosen for a purpose as well as just for their flavour!

  12. Ooh, thanks for this, I was looking for a good pumpkin soup recipe.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

